Our Favourite Cheat Day Meal – Recipe Two!

As mentioned in my last blog ‘Our First Cheat Day Meal – Recipe 1’, the delicious bread is best paired with salsa. So here is the salsa recipe, it makes a considerable amount as we generally use it for enchiladas and freeze left overs. This recipe is a combination of every salsa recipe I have seen and every YouTube video I have watched of people making salsa. Unknowingly I did my own research and then created this questionable recipe below. Please bear in mind whilst reading this that I am still trying to perfect this recipe, let me know if you have a good salsa recipe that I can try!

Salsa Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Red Onions
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • 2 Tins Of Tomatoes (in their juice)
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 3 Tbsp Flour
  • 1 Tbsp Ground Chilli
  • 1 Tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • A Pinch Of Cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste
  • Veg Stock Cube
  • 1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

STEP 1: Roughly chop the onions and garlic cloves, then melt the coconut oil in a large pan and throw them in. Toss them around in the pan to coat the onions and garlic in the coconut oil. Cook them on a medium heat, let them catch a little so the edges burn and then give them a stir, repeat this for 10-15 minutes or until the onions are soft.

STEP 2: For in two tins of tinned tomatoes, my tins were 400g each so try and stick as close to this as possible. I turn the heat up so that the tomato juice starts to bubble and then I turn it down to simmer for a further five minutes, stirring occasionally. There wasn’t that much juice in mine this time so I didn’t quite do it for as long as I didn’t want it to evaporate too much of the liquid.

STEP 3: Measure out the flour, salt, cumin, garlic powder, chilli and cinnamon in a separate bowl and add to the pan stirring quickly until the majority of the flour is mixed in. Don’t worry about small lumps of dry ingredients, this will be fixed when it is blitzed in the blender. Whilst writing this out I have realised that I add garlic cloves and garlic powder, I have know idea how I didn’t spot this earlier but it tastes good so I think I will continue adding both!

STEP 4: Add the two table spoons of tomato puree, I did two heaped spoons – I don’t know why, I just accidentally squeezed too much in the first spoon and instead of just doing the one heaped I thought why not go for it. I don’t know what the tomato puree adds to this recipe but I have always added it and do not want to risk removing it and have wasted what could have been a good salsa.

STEP 5: Dissolve the vegetable stock cube in 300ml hot water, add this to your pan and mix well. Add the lid to your pan and let the salsa simmer for approximately five minutes, try not too exceed ten minutes as your liquid will evaporate quickly. Without sounding too obvious, the less liquid you have the thicker your salsa will be!

STEP 6: Let your salsa cool for a few minutes before transferring to a blender. Take care not too burn yourself whilst doing this – the salsa saucepan will also be heavy so a ladle really helps this process. I have lost count on the number of times I have spilled the mixture or burnt myself trying to just pour the salsa straight from the pan.

Blitz the salsa in your blender until smooth, if you want a chunkier texture you could blitz for less time. Being the adult-child that I am, I am a picky eater and do not like the texture of a lot of vegetables so I blitz things until smooth. Salsa, soups, sauces – all have to be smooth!

TIPS:

  • If you like your salsa hotter, add more chilli powder – if you like it milder, add less.
  • I have found that the salsa is generally good for roughly five days in the fridge or three to four months in the freezer. But don’t hold me to this as I don’t know what I am talking about.
  • The salsa can be served warm or cold but is generally nicer warm. But do not reheat more than once!
  • A lot of this recipe is personal preference, let me know what adjustments you make and I will give them a go!

As mentioned earlier, this recipe is a work in progress so any suggestions in tweaking it or if you know a better recipe let me know by emailing adultingwithhanna@gmail.com or commenting below. Alternatively I would love to see your attempt at our favourite cheat day meals, email or tag me on Instagram @adultingwithhanna !

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started